Twenty one councils set to lead local government standards system

Strong support for the new local government standards system shows a desire within the sector to raise performance and deliver better outcomes for communities, Local Government New Zealand President Lawrence Yule says. 

Twenty one councils from across New Zealand – 27 per cent of the sector – have signed up to be involved in the first year of the new programme, which will see councils assessed by independent experts, given an A, B or C rating and the results shared with the public. 

Assessments will begin for an initial group of councils from 1 July this year and continue into 2017. Results will be shared from around the middle of next year.

Mr Yule says those involved include metropolitan, rural, provincial and regional councils. 

“To have nearly a third of the sector put their hands up to become what we are calling Foundation Councils and be the first to be assessed is fantastic,” Mr Yule says. 

“To me it shows a commitment from the sector to lifting and demonstrating our performance so that the communities we serve can have greater confidence in what we do and how we do it.” 

“Whether it’s financial decision-making, the way we communicate and engage with the community, our governance and leadership or our service delivery and asset management, all councils will likely have areas they can improve on. Most councils will also have areas they excel in. The programme will highlight both the good and the areas for progress, and chart a way forward for local government improvement,” Mr Yule says. 

Councils keen to be involved in the programme in its second phase will be able to register in early 2017. 

LGNZ is currently appointing an independent board to oversee the programme. 

The Foundation Councils are: 

Far North District Council, Gisborne District Council, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Hastings District Council, Horowhenua District Council, Masterton District Council, Matamata-Piako District Council, Napier City Council, Nelson City Council, Porirua City Council, Queenstown Lakes District Council, Rangitikei District Council, Ruapehu District Council, South Taranaki District Council, South Waikato District Council, Taupo District Council, Upper Hutt City Council, Waikato Regional Council, Waimakariri District Council, Wairoa District Council and Whakatane District Council. 


For more information, please contact LGNZ’s Director of Advocacy, Helen Mexted on 029 924 1221 or email