Independent Assessment Board

The Independent Assessment Board oversees the CouncilMARK™ programme and its assessment system. It refines and confirms the performance indicators in the system, oversees the independent assessors that undertake the assessments and is responsible for the awarding of assessment ratings and reports to councils.

Toby Stevenson for web3

Toby Stevenson (Chair)

Independent assessment board

albert brantley

Albert Brantley

Independent assessment board member

Mr Brantley is a former chief executive of Genesis Energy and current chief executive of Ōtākaro Limited, the Crown-owned company tasked with delivering Christchurch’s anchor projects.
DB photo website

Debbie Birch

Independent assessment board member

Ms Birch has more than 30 years’ experience in global financial markets offshore and in New Zealand and most recently has been GM, Investments with Te Tumu Paeroa. Previously Ms Birch has held senior executive positions in major global banks...
Catherine Harland 1

Catherine Harland

Independent assessment board member

Ms Harland has a deep understanding of local government and wider public sector developed over 30 years. She was a Watercare Services director for over 8 years and former elected Auckland local authority member for 15 years.  She has consultancy...